Weekly Update: 2/17

February 17, 2011

Hey there everyone, still in the thick of in-betweening as I was last week. It’ll be that way for the next few weeks yet, although I might change it up with some backgrounds to keep it varied and be able to complete a couple shots in full before the end of the semester.

 

The Difficult Stuff:

Scheduling. I swear, every time I make a schedule for myself I have some kind of time-traveling masochistic streak. It never fails that I load myself up with more work than I can reasonably finish in that time. I’m sure by now you can see where this tune is going: I don’t have as many in-betweens done as I wanted to by now. The good news is that I did get a heap of work done on it, and the pace is consistently speedy, considering how I thought it might go. How I managed both to overestimate the amount of work involved in in-betweening a given shot and underestimate how long getting roughly 2/3 of the film done is beyond me, but it’s been a good learning experience.

Also, the shots where the boy climbs up the ledge and where the critter climbs the tree, diminishing with perspective while the camera pans up after it. Those were damn difficult đŸ˜›

The Easy Stuff:

There have been a few shots here and there that required few additional in-betweens, usually ones I went ahead and animated more or less in full during the layout phase. I would do this out of sheer enthusiasm, usually, or sometimes so that I wouldn’t forget an idea for anticipation/follow-through/etc. While my past self in a scheduling role is a masochist, my past self in the layout/early roughs phase has been leaving the occasional gift basket.

 

Here are a few of the shots I’ve been working on!

One Response to “Weekly Update: 2/17”

  1. Very nice work on that tricky perspective shot. You made it look easy!

Leave a comment